Long Time Biologist Named New Game Division Administrator

Reno, NV: The Nevada Department of Wildlife (NDOW) has announced Shawn Espinosa as the new Game Division Administrator. Espinosa replaces Mike Scott who was promoted to Deputy Director earlier this year.

“We are very lucky to have someone of Shawn’s caliber willing to step up and take the helm of our Game Division,” said NDOW Director Alan Jenne. “Shawn is highly respected by his peers for his dedication and passion and has spent almost his entire adult life managing Nevada’s wildlife. He is definitely the right person to guide this division into the future.”

 Espinosa has worked at NDOW for the past 30 years, starting as a seasonal Conservation Aid in Carson City in 1993. He moved on to the Stream Survey crew until becoming a game warden in Southern Nevada in 1996. In 2000 Espinosa began working as a Habitat Biologist working on the Lake Tahoe Environment Program and the Nevada Tahoe Resource Team in Carson City. Espinosa was selected to the Department’s Greater sage-grouse conservation planning effort in 2003. That position evolved into Espinosa becoming the staff biologist in charge of managing all upland game species in the state, a position he has held for over 15 years.

 “To be honest, it’s a little surreal to be named the new administrator for the Game Division,” said Espinosa. “I’ve worked with so many incredible men and women over the years in this division. People who I respect and admire. To be chosen to take the lead of this remarkable team is very humbling.”

 During his years with NDOW, Espinosa has been recognized by several state and national organizations for his tireless efforts for Nevada’s Wildlife including being named Professional of the Year by The Wildlife Society and earning the Environmental Leadership Award from the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service. Most recently, Espinosa was presented with the Robert L. Patterson Award (2022) from the Western Association of Fish and Wildlife Agencies, Sage and Columbian Sharp-tailed Grouse Technical Committee. He was also named the NDOW employee of the year in 2012.

Share Now